Stollen 2020

Director: Laura Reichwald | Documentary | 85min

Is tradition the highest honour or the greatest misfortune? – That is what they argue about in the village of Pöhla.

Regardless of the devastating health consequences, even 30 years after the fall of the Berlin Wall, the mining customs in the Erzgebirge are still kept alive. With the closure of the last (uranium) mines in 1992, which irreversibly shaped the country and its people for 800 years, a new tourist identity had to be established.

Especially during Advent, old tradition and economic interest come together in the “Christmas Land” – whether baking Christmas stollen, singing together to the Metten layer in the mine or performing Christmas mass. But behind the peaceful appearance is hard work.

In the field of tension between the nomination as a world cultural heritage site and the commissioning of a pilot plant for the mining of tin and tungsten, STOLLEN tells of this special time of the year above and below ground – and thus draws the psychogram of a region that will be struggling to find its identity in 2019.

Script:

Laura Reichwald, Georg Kußmann, Stephan Bernades

Photography:

Janine Pätzold

Editor:

Gal Yaron Mayersohn

Sound:

Elisabeth Sommer, Daniel Scheer

Editorial:

Thomas Beyer, MDR

Producer:

Jürgen Kleinig (Neue Celluloid Fabrik), Marcello Busse (Busse), Stephan Bernardes (Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf)

Broadcast

Dates coming soon!

Stollen 2020

Regie: Laura Reichwald | Dokumentarfilm | 85min

Ist Tradition die höchste Ehre oder das größte Unglück? – Darüber streitet man im Dorf Pöhla. 
 
Ungeachtet der verheerenden gesundheitlichen Folgen hält man auch 30 Jahre nach der Wende die Bergbaubräuche im Erzgebirge lebendig. Mit der Schließung der letzten (Uran-)Bergwerke 1992, welche Land und Leute 800 Jahre irreversibel prägten, war man gezwungen sich eine neue touristische Identität aufzubauen.
 
Besonders im Advent vereint sich im „Weihnachtsland“ alte Tradition und wirtschaftliches Interesse – ob beim Stollenbacken, beim gemeinsamen Singen zur Mettenschicht im Bergwerk oder der Aufführung der Christmette. Hinter dem friedlichen Schein verbirgt sich jedoch harte Arbeit.

Im Spannungsfeld zwischen Ernennung als Weltkulturerbe und Inbetriebnahme einer Pilotanlage zum Abbau von Zinn und Wolfram, erzählt „Stollen“ von dieser besonderen Zeit des Jahres ober und unter Tage – und zeichnet so das Psychogramm einer Region, welche 2019 um ihre Identität ringt.

Buch:

Laura Reichwald, Georg Kußmann, Stephan Bernades

Kamera:

Janine Pätzold

Schnitt:

Gal Yaron Mayersohn

Ton:

Elisabeth Sommer, Daniel Scheer

Redaktion:

Thomas Beyer, MDR

Produzent:

Jürgen Kleinig (Neue Celluloid Fabrik), Marcello Busse (Busse), Stephan Bernardes (Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf)

Ausstrahlung

Stollen startet im Advent im Erzgebirge!
Termine bald hier.