When Kabul Sings 2018

Director: Sahra Mosawi | Documentary | 52 / 90 min.

Music was forbidden during the extremist Taliban regime. Many of Afghanistan’s musicians flee abroad. Afghanistan’s arts and culture scene was stalled for years to come. But, new songs are being sung.

2009 Dr. Ahmad Sarmast, a visionary musician and the first Afghan with a doctorate in music, founded the Afghanistan National Institute of Music – a school under constant threat of Taliban and ISIS attacks.

The students come from poor families, many working on the streets selling gums, balloons or washing cars. Taking their financial strain into account, the school pays what the kids would have earned. The students study and join an ensemble – setting off on their own musical journey.

This story of music and courage is told by Afghan girls; Zohra, the first and only all women orchestra in Afghanistan. They toured Europe, performed at the World Economic Forum in Davos and won of the Freemuse Award 2017. Arriving home at Hamid Karzai Airport in Kabul, hundreds of people – women, men, artists, intellectuals and academics greet them. It becomes clear that these young girls have the power to change the attitude of a very conservative society. 2018 the Afghanistan National Institute of Music is nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Their stories reveal their families’ courage and Afghanistans’ challenging path to modernity. Not bombs, soldiers or Taliban but joyful girls singing a universal language – a new vision for Afghanistan.

Producer:

Sahra Mosawi

Co-Producer:

Jürgen Kleinig

When Kabul Sings 2018

Regie: Sahra Mani | Dokumentarfilm | 52 / 90 Min.

Unter der Herrschaft der Taliban war Musik verboten. Viele afghanische Musiker flohen aus ihrer Heimat. So lag die Kunst- und Kulturszene des Landes über viele Jahre brach. Aber, neue Lieder entstehen…

2009 gründete Dr. Ahmad Sarmast das Afghanische Nationalinstitut für Musik – eine Schule unter konstanter Bedrohung der Taliban und Attacken von ISIS.

Die Schüler stammen aus armen Familien, viele verkauften auf der Straße Kaugummis, Luftballons oder wuschen Autos. Um die prekäre Situation zu mildern, zahlt die Schule das Geld aus, das sie auf der Straße verdient hätten. Jeder Schüler studiert und spielt in einem Ensemble – hier beginnt ihre musikalische Reise.

Diese Geschichte über Musik und Mut wird erzählt von afghanischen Mädchen: von Zorah, dem einzigen Frauenorchester Afghanistans. Sie tourten in Europa, traten beim Abschlusskonzert des Weltwirtschaftsforums in Davos auf und gewannen 2017 den Freemuse Award. Bei ihrer Heimkehr werden sie in Kabul von Hunderten von Menschen begrüßt: Frauen, Männer, Künstler, Intellektuelle und Akademiker. Blumen, Fans, Interviews. Diese jungen Frauen haben die Kraft, die Haltung einer sehr konservativen Gesellschaft zu verändern. 2018 wird das Afghanische Nationalinstitut für Musik für den Friedensnobelpreis nominiert.

Ihre Lebensgeschichten zeigen den Mut und den steinigen Weg Afghanistans in die Moderne. Nicht Bomben, Soldaten und Taliban sondern fröhliche Mädchen, die eine universelle Sprache singen – eine neue Vision für Afghanistan.

Produzent:

Sahra Mosawi

Co-Produzent:

Jürgen Kleinig